History and Organization of the Dixie MPO
After several years of planning and actions to comply with local, federal and state requirements, on September 20, 2002 then [Utah] Governor Michael O. Leavitt designated Utah’s newest metropolitan planning organization (MPO).  This MPO was officially designated as the Dixie Metropolitan Planning Organization (also referred to as the Dixie MPO or DMPO) and has its office located within and is administered by the Five County Association of Governments (FCAOG).
The Federal Government acknowledged the Governor’s designation of the Dixie Metropolitan Planning Organization on October 8, 2002, clearing the way for this new MPO,  in partnership with other local, state and federal entities, to conduct the urban transportation planning process for the St. George Urbanized Area (SGUZA) and a planning boundary of what might likely be urbanized by the year 2025.
The Dixie MPO is actually made up of three recognized entities:
  • The Dixie Transportation Planning Office ( DTPO ) located at the FCAOG;
  • A policy body known as the Dixie Transportation Executive Council ( DTEC ) comprised of elected officials representing the cities of Ivins, St. George, Santa Clara, and Washington, the county of Washington, and the State Transportation Commissioner representing the southwest part of the state; and
  • A technical advisory committee known as the Dixie Transportation Advisory Committee ( DTAC ) comprised of public works officials of the entities noted above and the Cedar District Engineer, Utah Department of Transportation ( UDOT ), who will advise the executive council on regional transportation issues, programs, and projects.